Hi,

I am really new to dvrs i really hope someone can guide me, i have a dvr h.264 and now all three listed ddns websites associated with the firmware on the dvr either no longer exits or is a pay service. I want to add a custom firmware if i can so i can add free dns sites. Is there anyway to do this?

Thank you in advance

Short answer; no, you can't.

Long answer; you can, but it might not be worth the hassle.

You should contact the DVR manufacturer and ask them. I would first contact whoever sold you the unit, if possible. "h.264" is not a brand, but a compression algorithm, so "dvr h.264" is just a generic chinese dvr. It might be quite difficult to get a firmware update, if you can do it at all.

Post a picture of the front and back of your unit, maybe someone will recognise it and help you out.

Thank you so much for the reply. I have done some digging since posting and discovered that it is actually called sentient. I am under the impression it might be something to do with mapling.

DDNS works when your DVR keeps telling a dedicated network server all the ip addresses in chain that your DVR is connected to. The server dynamically updates the ip address at a regular interval when the IP address in a long chain changes. If your DVR is port-forwarded and you can willingly take trouble to identify its global(public) ip address every time your remote access is blocked, then you do not need to pay for DDNS.