guidoverduci

Help a noob out with a surveillance setup

Hi!

I've been reading all the info I can find on this site and others and now I'm even more confused on what to do. Analysis paralysis! Can anyone recommend a good setup in the $500 range? I've seen the setups at places like costco, but everyone seems to say go with a IP / POE setup. Is that possible in my price range? I'm just looking for at least 4 cameras with the ability to add a few more.

Neighbor's house was broken into and I think it's about time I invest in some cameras! Thanks!

I'm a noob as well, always wanted a camera setup, but I didn't want to buy something cheap... just to have to upgrade later. Then I came across these TriVision cameras (http://amzn.com/B00Z7B11XM), they are self contained out of the box, but have the ability to join a more structured system in the future.

If you have one, it can record to itself on a microSD card, and you can access it remotely or locally via your wireless network. I currently have three running on my wireless network, with a fourth waiting in my office to get installed.

I just got 1,000 feet of CAT6, so I'm going to hardwire them and power them off a PoE switch. Right now they're all on AC power and connected on wireless, which makes them really easy to expand as funds allow. Once they're all running to one switch, I'm going to buy a NAS for the cameras to download to. Right now they all record internally to microSD cards (64gig), which works great, but they can be a little slow to access over wireless.

My favorite thing about them, is how easy they are to access remotely, I can check on my house from anywhere I have cell service or wifi.

If you want any more information on my setup, just ask. I'm still learning as well.

ps

I bought all my cameras through Snagshout (www.snagshout.com) at a pretty big discount, the site is legit, although 98% of the crap they offer is stuff I would never buy.

Hi. Don't take any notice of Iscrx.

Hi is selling you junk