Sign in to follow this  
grainger06

Boss Spying On Me?

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this site; please forgive me if I am posting this question in an incorrect area. I am going to give some background of my situation first - please skip to the bottom for my questions if I am giving irrelevant information.

Here is my situation:

I have a job that requires me to live on the property I manage. My boss is very OCD and needs control of everything. When I first started this job, he made some strange comments that made me question how he was getting his information. For example: He rarely ever asks me about my personal life, but one time I was talking on the land line and made plans with my girlfriend to go out that night - later asked if I was going out with my girlfriend. Not an absolute red flag, but it made me wonder if he was listening to my conversations. After a couple of other similar coincidences, I stopped using the land line for personal phone calls and other things that I didn't want him to know.

Shortly after I stopped using the land line, he bought me a cell phone range extender to install in my house - cell phone service is poor where I live and I used to have to go outside to make phone calls. Now I am having the same feeling that he is listening to me again. For example: I was having a conversation with my father in my living room on my cell about a surgery he was going to have, and the next day my boss commented on my father's problems. I told a couple of people I work with about his surgery, but I can't think of any reason for that information to get back to him through casual conversation.

My question:

Does it sound like I am being paranoid? What sort of techniques would be used to spy on me under these conditions? Where would bugs likely be placed? What is a good bug sweeper that isn't too expensive (I don't anticipate having to use it more than once, but I want to be confident in my privacy)?

I appreciate your comments.