se99paj

Vehicle CCTV system

Hey guys, I have an interesting challenge for you guys. I have been given a small task to install a video system on a prototype tracked vehicle. The system needs to record from about 4 cameras mounted on the interior. We will move onto them in a minute, for the moment I am looking at how to record the video. I need the best quality with high frame rates and preferably a decent capture resolution so that the video footage can be easily seen.

The biggest problem I have is shock & vibration, this is not your everyday vehicle, so I need a tough system that can take a pounding and still record efficiently at teh same time. I have a list of shock and vibration tests that the system must be tested to but for now I won't bore you with the details.

I have contacted March Networks concerning their 5308 mobile DVR, there are some other companies that I'm looking at though. Now back to the cameras, I am completely new to cameras so don't know the best way forward. I would prefer to have small bullet cameras installed as they will take up a small amount of space but I'm concerned about the lack of features on these models.

The cameras will not be affected to much by vibration and shock so that is not a problem, I am worried about a few things though. The interior is very small therefore the cameras will be close to the passengers, is there a minimum distance that the cameras need to be before a clear picture can be recorded. I am also concerned about the viewing angle of the cameras are their different types do these cameras come with a zoom and focus feature. I am also tempted by the day/night feature on some of these cameras the interior of the vehicle will usually be well lit, but there may be times when the interior will not be illuminated therefore it could be useful to ahve a night feature. Is there anything I should keep in mind about building this system??