freddyq

Home PoE CCTV setup: Questions

Hi all,

This is my first time posting on here!

I'm looking to setup CCTV monitoring around the house and have been doing some detailed research recently to help me purchase the kit I'll need. I have a bunch of questions from that which hopefully you can help with. I should point out that as part of a recent home renovation I had CAT6 cable run to three points around the house (front, side and rear) where I would want the cameras located so that bit is done and allows me to go for PoE cameras.

Rather than putting all my questions here in one shot I'll ask in related groups, starting with the cameras. I'm going to try and go for Hikvisions as they seem to get positive reviews in general and should come within my budget although open to others if better suited to my requirements. The one I'm currently thinking of is the Hikvision DS-2CD2042WD-I 4mm mini bullet. I've looked into the bullet vs dome debate but to be honest I still don't have a compelling reason to go for one over the other. My questions on the cameras are:

1. Any thoughts on the Hikvision above? Hopefully it's a good choice for general domestic monitoring.

In terms of bullet vs dome, is it dependent on where I'm planning to put the cameras? So the front drive is 7.8m deep and 10m wide. It's currently not all concrete so the car is parked in a 3m wide space on one side of the drive but I'd like to be able to cover the whole or most of the front garden. I like the idea of a bullet making itself obvious on the front of the house looking across the front garden - thoughts?

2. The side area I'm looking to cover is 6.7m long and 2.6m side - not sure if bullet or dome would be advantageous given these dimensions?