View unanswered posts | View active topics


Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
  
 Post subject: Underground cabling 250' RG6? in conduit
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2018 9:50 pm 
Registered User

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 4

Offline
Greetings from central NC.

I have trenched my front yard for water bibs and 110'v ac to several spots.

I want lay in some video cable for yet to purchase surveillance system. I need to get my yard closed up but since the trench is dug 24" I have ample room at 6" below grade to go ahead now and lay in video cable. The run is 250' between camera and house. Is RG6 in conduit a good choice.

I've installed four in retail store simple 6 camera systems(Revo) but nothing this distance underground or coax type cable. Revo used something like phone/cat5? with push in jacks. Also no nothing about transition from coax to camera or from coax to dvr.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks Eric


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Underground cabling 250' RG6? in conduit
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 6:21 am 
Installer

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1660
Location: ST Joe , MI

Offline
you could run CAT5E gel filled and use baluns that way if you ever want to switch to IP you could. I would run multiple cables as you may want to run a network or some other devices. If you choose to run coax use the filled type as any water gets into standard coax it will wick into the braid and ruin the cable.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Underground cabling 250' RG6? in conduit
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 3:27 pm 
Registered User

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 4

Offline
I'm thinking of just a camera with maybe audio(listening). It would be nice if camera would pan The position will be near the street/mailbox driveway entrance. What are baluns? edit how do baluns work in relation to cat5 or coax, thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Underground cabling 250' RG6? in conduit
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 3:36 pm 
Registered User

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 4

Offline
I googled it and it lead me to post here that explains it. I have a lot to learn.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Underground cabling 250' RG6? in conduit
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 3:44 pm 
Registered User

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 4

Offline
Is gel filled cat5e suitable for direct burial without conduit?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Underground cabling 250' RG6? in conduit
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 10:47 am 
Installer

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1660
Location: ST Joe , MI

Offline
they make a cable rated for direct bury. That can be buried without conduit. Outdoor rated cable should not be buried without being installed in conduit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:35 am

The contents of this webpage are copyright © 2003-2016 CCTVForum.com. All Rights Reserved.