dalepres

multi-camera point-to-point system.

I'm looking for an inexpensive solution for sending the surveillance camera signals from my house and property to my in-laws next door when we're out of town or away from home. My in-laws are not tech savvy at all. They can't operate the caller ID on their phone, let alone a computer or the Internet so I'm looking for something relatively simple. I may just put in a big TV with 4 cameras showing all the time and leave it at that for the user interface.

THe part I'm missing is how to get the video from my house to theirs. I used to work in the business years ago, up to around 1993, and was very competent at designing digital and analog microwave video, data, and telephone systems, both the RF and data parts of the systems. But that was then and this is now. And those systems required licensing that was complex with engineering documents, etc, and they were very expensive - let alone big. The point is, I am pretty familiar with the concepts but I'm 20-years out of the loop on what's available and for how much.

System design requirements are:

1. 400 foot range, clear line of sight
  2. 1080p bandwidth. I could live with 720p if I had to.
  3. PTZ/camera selection from the remote end back to my house.

With today's cheap, commoditized, wireless systems, I was wondering if there is anyone making inexpensive wireless point-to-point systems suitable for reliable consumer or SOHO use? Though I'd prefer a system for under a dollar, I would be willing to pay up to several hundred dollars for the RF part of the system if I had to.

A pair of Ubiquiti Nanostation M5's http://www.ubnt.com/airmax#nanostationm would fit your requirements for the RF data link side of things, usually under $200 USD for a pair (or the smaller Nanostation Loco M5's, at even a little less cost).