sixsevenco

Yet another noob with questions (but I've done my homework)

Hi Everyone,

I'm a total noob when it comes to security and CCTV. Before posting, however, I really tried to do my homework. I am a DIY'er, and I am looking to install a self-monitored security system with video. I am fairly technical and handy. I'd like the flexibility to add home automation functionality down the line.

Here's what I would like:

1. Security panel to monitor my doors, windows, and other wired sensors. (My house was prewired for security from the Builder)

2. NVR with 1080p IP cameras to provide surveillance for the exterior of my house.

3. I would like for the security panel and NVR to be able to talk with each other or have some level of integration.

As far as the security panel goes, I've considered the Honeywell/Ademco Vista 20p, DSC 1832, and Elk M1 Gold. They all really seem to do the same thing, and I think I've decided to go with the Vista 20p.

I've read through the "The Ultimate IP Camera Guide" and several other posts, and they have been very helpful. Here's what I've learned/decided:

1. To install my surveillance system, I will need to pull cable. If I'm going to pull cable, I should be forward thinking and go with an IP/PoE solution.

2. It seems that, generally speaking, 1080p resolution cameras are needed to provide clear videos to the authorities. (if ever needed)

3. I've seen many posts praising Blue Iris, and the arguments are compelling. For me, I'd rather have plug-and-play solution where I don't need to maintain a server/PC. This tells me to go with an NVR.

4. While I never heard of them prior to my research, Hikvision and Dahua solutions are the way to go.

5. To get Hikvision or Dahua in my region, I will likely need to go with a rebranded product.

6. Not all NVRs include the inputs/outputs to connect to alarm panels.

7. Prepackaged kits provide value, but they might not include the ideal cameras for my specific needs.