Sign in to follow this  
ITtoCC

Top brands for small business? NVR & camera selection

Hello forumers! My background is in IT and now one of my customers has asked me to recommend a surveillance solution for them. I thought why not, I'm eager to learn and I know networking already so IP, PoE, port forwarding etc. are already familiar, and they already have a PoE switch at one site.

They are a small business but they have a three different sites that would require about 4-6 cameras on two of the sites and fewer on the last site. As a small business price is of course important to them, I believe the budget would need to be within reason for their size, so not 10k per location, but perhaps overall it could be a few thousand euros.

I've been reading about IP camera systems for the last few days and I think an easy to use NVR would be the best option. Here are some requirements:

• •Live view monitor in the reception area.
    •Very easy to use, appliance like NVR as receptionists change often and don't always have the time to learn to use a complex system. Basically the NVR should be able to turn off and on by just pressing a button and bootup right away to live view, so they don't have to do much.
    •Quiet. Shouldn't make so much noise that it disturbes the receptionists. Putting the NVR to a network closet would be one option, but then the display and mouse signals would need to be converted and brought to the reception area via CAT-cabling. The NVR might also have buttons which could be useful for the more savvy users.

Bonus features:

• •Web interface that works with Mac OS and browsers other than IE.
    •Mobile app for iOS and Android.