Keyboard

My SWANN NHD-815 Experiment

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie on this site, as well as to surveillance systems in general. Recently, I've been researching this site for information on getting an IP camera with a built-in microphone connected to an existing NVR that I have.

In short, although I got it to work partially, I eventually gave up. But, I wanted to pass along some of my findings that may be useful and/or save someone time and headaches.

This is a long post, so I hope you bear with me. Also, I hope I'm not rehashing something that's already been beaten to death.

First, A Little Background...

I purchased a SWANN NVR model NVR8-7200 in March 2014. It came with 4 SWANN bullet IP cameras (model NHD-820) which I mounted outside. I then purchased 4 SWANN NHD-831 dome IP cameras (model NHD-831) which I mounted inside. This completed my 8 camera system.

Current Configuration:

• NVR - SWANN NVR8-7200
    Cameras - NHD-820 (4 Bullets) + NHD-831 (4 Domes)

Now, On With My Adventure...

I was very happy with the system. Then SWANN introduced their NHD-815 bullet camera which has the added feature of a built-in microphone. I was delighted as I thought I could replace my front door NHD-820 with a NHD-815 that came with the added audio feature.

After many failed attempts at getting my NVR to recognize the camera, I learned that the NHD-815 only works with the SWANN NVRx-7300 series, not the NVRx-7200 series (bummer).

Fast Forward...

I then learned that the SWANN 7200 series is actually a rebranded HikVision (DS-7608NI-E2/8P/A), yet the 7300 series is not a rebranded HikVision. Hence, the NHD-815 was incompatible with my NVR.

I then decided to purchase a HikVision DS-7608NI-E2/8P to see if I could get the NHD-815 to work. If that worked I had planned to switch out the SWANN NVR and install the HikVision NVR for all of my cameras.

For my test HikVision NVR, I purchased and attached a variety of cameras:

• DS-2CD2632F-IS,
    DS-2CD213F-IS,