Sign in to follow this  
BillAk

New to CCTV

Hello everyone. I apologise if my English are not perfect. I am not a native speaker.

I am very new to CCTV and I need to create a system for my home security. I know I am suppose to search the forum for answers but I am also sure that my questions are very easy and fast to answer.

I was looking for DVR cards in Aliexpress. I can find the cards there 2 or 3 times cheaper. For example a card in Aliexpress was about $100 and in a Greek eshop about the same card was $250. I understand the reasons of course. The market must have a markup price.

Now to my questions.

I see many resolutions, fps and other infos in the cards. There are a few things that I don't understand.

Compression H.264, Input 8CH BNC, Output VGA

Frame rate

NTSC:240fps, PAL: 200fps

Resolution 352 *288 320*288 704*576

Frame rate NTSC:240fps, PAL: 200fps

Resolution 352*288 320*288 704*576

If the total FPS of a card says 200 does it mean it is the display or the rec fps?

Is there a link explaining all the infos about cards. I want to buy this card but it is weird that it is 704*576 and it costs only $42. Is it a normal price?

The FPS is spread across all the channels on the card, so if its 240FPS and has 8 channels then you have 30FPS per channel, but the question is at what resolution, if at D1 then great if at CIF not so great.

And the reason things are cheaper on aliexpress is because you are getting no name cards from china.

All of them have Compression Format H.264. Is this good?

So we have:

TOTAL FPS

Display FPS

Recording FPS

Display resolution

Recording resolution.

I don't know what D1 and CIF is.

As far as I can see all cards have equal number of total - display and recording. (200 in most times.)