View unanswered posts | View active topics


Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
  
 Post subject: Door won't lock!! Secure Perfect to Software House CCure
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 11:14 am 
Registered User

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 4

Offline
Fairly simple building, 15 readers, 4 levels.

Replaced a Secure Perfect system that was installed in December 2003 with a Software House CCure system. New panel, new HID readers, new j-boxes, kept existing wiring and door power supplies.

We have two doors that won't lock, after you swipe enough of the voltage stays energized to keep the door unlocked. We've re-crimped the b-connectors at the crash bar with no luck. After we swipe and the door unlocks, we can pull the relay and the door will lock. Sometimes it will lock after the first swipe, not always, any swipe after that and the voltage stays.

System was very functional/reliable before the switch, and it's 2 doors.

Any ideas? My installer tried flipping the wires at the relay, switching negative instead of positive and no luck. He wants to try a diode next.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Door won't lock!! Secure Perfect to Software House CCure
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:11 pm 
Installer

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1545
Location: Montgomery, Alabama

Offline
What kind of crashbar?
High energy latch retraction, Low energy latch retraction, or electrified trim?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Door won't lock!! Secure Perfect to Software House CCure
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 4:31 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 4

Offline
ssmith10pn wrote:
What kind of crashbar?
High energy latch retraction, Low energy latch retraction, or electrified trim?


I'm not sure on the model, I'll have to check next week when I'm on-site.

Not sure on the latch either, I know when power is removed the door locks, so it's fail-secure right? I don't know if that corresponds to high energy latch retraction or not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Door won't lock!! Secure Perfect to Software House CCure
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:59 pm 
Installer

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1545
Location: Montgomery, Alabama

Offline
You need to do some investigating. If it's high energy there is a power supply with a dry input to trigger the power to the device.
Von Duprin, Precision, Corbin Ruswin and others are high energy latch retraction.
Some newer low energy devices have constant power at the device and a dry trigger. Identify the device and look at the manual for it.

I have experienced several of the von duprin power supplies get sticking relays if they are in high humidity.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Door won't lock!! Secure Perfect to Software House CCure
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:45 am 
Registered User

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 4

Offline
I don't have an exact model (going today to get it), but it looks a lot like a Sargent. And I think it's a rim device.

I took a picture of the wires, once I get the manual I can make sure they're right. Maybe it has a bad ground and can't dissipate the current after the relay timer fires?
Attachment:
wires2.jpg


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Please sign-in or register to view or download.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Door won't lock!! Secure Perfect to Software House CCure
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:14 am 
Installer

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1545
Location: Montgomery, Alabama

Offline
It might be a precision or a Monarch. Are the Gray wires going to the device or to the Power transfer?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Door won't lock!! Secure Perfect to Software House CCure
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:53 am 
Registered User

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 4

Offline
ssmith10pn wrote:
It might be a precision or a Monarch. Are the Gray wires going to the device or to the Power transfer?



I feel certain the grey wires are going to the crash bar. The 4 very thin wires (blue, grey, black, yellow) go through a hole in the door and through the hinge.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Door won't lock!! Secure Perfect to Software House CCure
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:14 pm 
Installer

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1545
Location: Montgomery, Alabama

Offline
Dang what a soup sandwich.
Transfer hinge leads are only about 6" long so there is another transition inside the door or behind the hinge on the door side.
Plus another transition on the frame side. That's only 24 or 28 gauge wire.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

It is currently Thu May 24, 2018 8:51 am

The contents of this webpage are copyright © 2003-2016 CCTVForum.com. All Rights Reserved.