Sign in to follow this  
mark123

HIKVision DS-9016HQHI-SH Issues

Hopefully somebody can lead me in the right path on this one. I'll be the first to admit that I'm not a DVR expert, but have been a field computer network engineer for 20+ years and this one has got me a bit stumped. Excuse the long story/history but it's to explain what has been done so far.

I have a customer that I support their IT and PC and server needs, not the DVR. The customer purchased through a local dealer a HIKVision DS-9016HQHI-SH recorder and 32 hi-def POE camera's. They have had the system for over 6 months, but I just got involved in it a 2 months ago but have had issues since day 1. There are 4 PC's, a server and a guest wireless access point on the internal lan. The guest access point is limited to 1mbs up and down. Very little traffic on the internal network. Internet is cable modem, 10 up 50 down. DVR has a monitor attached directly to it. Client PC's are running iVMS 4200 client v2.4.1.7.

Main issue that got me involved a few months ago was that the DVR was rebooting anywhere from 4 to 20 times a day by itself and had been since install. The installer for the vendor that sold them the equipment contacted HIKVision and they blamed it on my network. If there is one client computer connected to the DVR using iVms client the DVR seemed stable. If a second PC accessed it after a few minutes or switching of views, the DVR would crash and reboot within a minute or two. It did the same thing on from the installers PC and a virgin install of the software on my laptop. Since the issue also happened on our laptops I kind of ruled out my network. They have never complained of any network issues at all as far as PC's and internet goes. Accessing the DVR from a phone over internet would also cause the unit to crash. Installer calls and places a ticket with HIKVision and I leave.