Sign in to follow this  
N6VMO

Switching from Blue Iris to Hik NVR system....many questions

Hello,

I have been running a 5 camera system with Blue Iris for about 4 years now, but want to decrease some power consumption by using a Hikvision DS-7608NI-I2/8P NVR.

BI system consists of 5 cameras (Hik, Dahua, Swann), a PC, Cisco POE switch with 4 attached cameras and a TrendNet POE switch with a single attached camera for the garage. All components are on the same subnet (192.168.0.xxx).

Therefore, I now have many questions. Here is one of these questions.

How can I attach the remote garage camera to the NVR via the TrendNet switch without a direct cable run to the NVR POE ports?

Basically, I want to replace the BI PC (192.168.0.15) with the Hik NVR without recabling or re IP'ing cameras, if possible. See my attached network configuration.

John

1531857965_N6VMONetworkRev1.thumb.jpg.d0bdcd93a843c1ab5f1b45c8b670187d.jpg

Hello,

I have been running a 5 camera system with Blue Iris for about 4 years now, but want to decrease some power consumption by using a Hikvision DS-7608NI-I2/8P NVR.

BI system consists of 5 cameras (Hik, Dahua, Swann), a PC, Cisco POE switch with 4 attached cameras and a TrendNet POE switch with a single attached camera for the garage. All components are on the same subnet (192.168.0.xxx).

Therefore, I now have many questions. Here is one of these questions.

How can I attach the remote garage camera to the NVR via the TrendNet switch without a direct cable run to the NVR POE ports?

Basically, I want to replace the BI PC (192.168.0.15) with the Hik NVR without recabling or re IP'ing cameras, if possible. See my attached network configuration.

[attachment=0]N6VMO Network Rev 1.jpg[/attachment]

John

Those cameras should come up in the NVR with no issues. You can definitely slap in an NVR in place of the PC, just set a static 192.168.0.xx (.15 if you want to keep everything the same) and it should auto-discover cameras on the network.