View unanswered posts | View active topics


Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
  
 Post subject: Geovision IP camera quality issue
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 6:14 pm 
Registered User

Joined: May 2017
Posts: 3

Offline
I have had a 16 camera geovision system for years and it works great. I want to switch to IP cameras. I started with 3 IP cameras and set them to 30FPS. Live view looks fine (looks more like 10-14FPS), but the recordings looked more like 3-5FPS. I added a 2nd hard drive (Seagate Surveillance HDD 4TB ST4000VX000 6Gb/s ) and dedicated the IP cams to it. They were actually worse! More like 1FPS with FREQUENT pauses, gaps, etc. I listed my system below. What items need to be checked/upgraded to make a viable 16 IP camera system?

Intel Core 2 Quad (Q6600)
Gigabyte EP45-UD3R MB (Intel chipset, SATA 3GB/s)
2 - 4GB SATA 6 drives (yes, I know 3 is the max with this MB)
3 GB RAM
NVidia Geoforce 9400 GT
Geovision 1480 A Combo card
Geovision v8.5.9 - I tried a newer version and couldn't even get it to come up, so I had to reinstall this one.

When running, performance is:
CPU-80%
Memory - 80%
Disk 1 - 1-2%
Disk 2 - 1-2%
Ethernet - 9-14Mbps

As a note, before adding IP cams, I upgraded from win 7 to 10 and ever since then, even the analog cameras look "blocky". I tried different drivers with no improvement.

Suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Geovision IP camera quality issue
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 8:12 pm 
Registered User

Joined: May 2017
Posts: 3

Offline
Hi, so out of curiosity, and laying aside the 16 IP camera subject, you are trying to run a Windows 10 system with a Core 2 and only 3 GB RAM? Windows 10 will make life miserable with only 3 GB RAM.
As I understand it, your Motherboard supports 16GB RAM. Suggest an upgrade of RAM to at least 8-12GB, and test from there.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Geovision IP camera quality issue
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 5:48 pm 
Registered User

Joined: May 2017
Posts: 3

Offline
As old as the memory is, it will take around $200 to get 8GB of matching RAM. I would rather put that in a new system. Where can I get advice on what is recommended for a geo system? What I see on their site is years old and still based on Win 7.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Geovision IP camera quality issue
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 6:04 pm 
Registered User

Joined: May 2017
Posts: 3

Offline
And as another optio, can I simply get a new system using the geovision NVR and then map the cameras from the old system till I phase them out? Will basically any system work?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Geovision IP camera quality issue
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 10:10 am 
Registered User

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 270

Offline
Thats what I would do, just start a new system for IP cameras. Geovision does make some NVRs, but I prefer to just use a PC as the NVR for Geovision. Currently they have a pretty good value on a 4MP H.265 outdoor camera

https://www.amazon.com/GeoVision-GV-EBD ... 4mp+camera

If you are interested in a H.265 system, be sure to get an intel i7 6000 series.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Geovision IP camera quality issue
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:29 am 
Registered User

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 3

Offline
[quote="yzpmpgq"]I have had a 16 camera geovision system for years and it works great. I want to switch to IP cameras. I started with 3 IP cameras and set them to 30FPS. Live view looks fine (looks more like 10-14FPS), but the recordings looked more like 3-5FPS. I added a 2nd hard drive (Seagate Surveillance HDD 4TB ST4000VX000 6Gb/s ) and dedicated the IP cams to it. They were actually worse! More like 1FPS with FREQUENT pauses, gaps, etc. I listed my system below. What items need to be checked/upgraded to make a viable 16 IP camera system?

Intel Core 2 Quad (Q6600)
Gigabyte EP45-UD3R MB (Intel chipset, SATA 3GB/s)
2 - 4GB SATA 6 drives (yes, I know 3 is the max with this MB)
3 GB RAM
NVidia Geoforce 9400 GT
Geovision 1480 A Combo card
Geovision v8.5.9 - I tried a newer version and couldn't even get it to come up, so I had to reinstall this one.

When running, performance is:
CPU-80%
Memory - 80%
Disk 1 - 1-2%
Disk 2 - 1-2%
Ethernet - 9-14Mbps

As a note, before adding IP cams, I upgraded from win 7 to 10 and ever since then, even the analog cameras look "blocky". I tried different drivers with no improvement.

Hi, Just a few thoughts.

I assume you now have 16 cameras attached, 13 analog and 3 IP Megapixel.
I also assume that you are using Geovision 1.3MP cameras. Sorry if I got that wrong.

You asked "What items need to be checked/upgraded to make a viable 16 IP camera system?" so I presume your analog cameras will be phased out completely.

Your Geovision 1480 A Combo card has served you well.

If you remove the Geovision 1480 A Combo card your current PC spec should
easily run 16 IP Cameras.

The Geovision 1480 A Combo card uses a lot of CPU processing which is
currently taking away from the power needed for your 3 IP cameras.

If you keep your Geovision 1480 A Combo card and try a slow transition then you will need to drastically reduce the FPS until the last of the analog are replace.

Best of luck!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

It is currently Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:41 am

The contents of this webpage are copyright © 2003-2016 CCTVForum.com. All Rights Reserved.