Sign in to follow this  
Baud1200

Megapixels vs Quality??

Guys I am new to lot of this and after few days of trying to research and decide on camera for my small surveillance setup over my work truck (1-2 cameras). ATM i use Ispy software on a 8 core rack mount server with a cheapo Dlink 5222L cam. Needless to say the nighttime capabilities of this camera are limited. I have a limited range of use only 30-50 yards but it does need to work very well at night with interference (IR reflections off steel railings and street light currently blocking 1/4 the picture is major issue atm).

You can barely make out the truck on the road, let alone anyone messing with it. Identifying them is out of the question.8NKUB Believe it or not I have already painted that railing matte black...

Needing to upgrade and would like some advice, Should i jump on bandwagon of high Megapixel camera or go for a high quality lower megapixel one?

1 Megapixel Axis -P3364-VE (12MM version)

VS

3 Megapixel Trendnet TV-IP311PI

I have seen side to side comparisons of both brands 2MP cameras and nighttime IR on the Axis is clearly better. Given that i could get the Axis for within $100 the cost of the Trendnet, would you take it despite 1MP vs 3MP?

Thanks, I did hear that They are rebrands, at least will be able to flash with English firmware. Still cant get over the price point though. Life's experience has taught me that there is usually a difference between a $200 dollar product and a $1200 one in the same competition, that being there is a reason for the price difference.

Here is a video (sorry russian) showing side by side comparison of the 2 brands using thier 2MP cameras. Looks good for the Hikvision initially but then you see the difference in low/no light conditions and the Axis destroys it hands down..

n6cu006s9V8

This is more or less what i was trying to find out if the image celerity at night will be better with the Axis even though the re branded Hikvision is 2MP higher?