Sign in to follow this  
BeSafe1991

Best indoor camera to catch them in the act

Hello,

I'm new to security cameras and am looking for some specifics.

In the past I have been spied on through my house windows by teenagers from my old neighborhood. So I'm interested in an indoor camera that can be attached preferably just above my windows or to the side of my windows. I also need quality, to capture their faces etc, even at night (night vision)

I also need a camera that can be hooked up to my computer aswell as operate wirelessly if I need to.

Lastly I hope you can answer this, but if you could, tell me if there is a way to operate a wireless camera without the use of an internet connection? For example, similar to the way wireless gaming controllers work, where you might have the USB reciever be plugged into the computer while the camera can operate wirelessly from several feet/meters away.

If you could answer my question and help me find a camera as close to what I am looking for as possible I'd really appreciate it!

Thanks

Cameras:

• there are Super HAD CCD TV cameras, and junk:
http://www.mintron.com/HTM/Q&A/Htm/Super%20HAD%20CCD%20camera.htm
The lens is in front of the sensor. Jive junk cast acrylic lens = jive junk distorted image. a good lens is essential for a good image
The lens harvests light. the size of the lens determines how much light the lens can harvest. do not expect Nikon quality from a pinhole lens camera
The sensor is a limiting factor. a funky sensor behind a Nikon lens will give you a funky image. A 1/3" sensor is better than a 1/4" sensor because there is more surface area for the same image.
Don't try to buy a camera and a separate lens to match. you can do a lot of spending for very little matching. if the term C mount is in the mix, it gets much worse.

so, get a camera with a 1/3" Super HAD CCD sensor, with a big light bucket lens, from a retailer you can return it to if it does not work.