RockThis52

How is this system for a residential home?

https://www.amazon.ca/Security-Superior-Weatherproof-Technology-Smartphone/dp/B00ZW63ESC/ref=sr_1_4?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1468258619&sr=1-4&keywords=dvr

I plan on buying the 4 camera package w/o an HDD and buy an HDD separate.

Are the specs good in terms of quality? I have no knowledge about video and video recording and my google searches on the topic do not help me.

For example it says it records at 12 FPS but plays back at 30 FPS. Any issues? Also is the quality true 1080p? I.e. I see 960H and 800TVL, do these contradict the fact that it could be 1080p?

In terms of the daytime and night time quality, are they considered good quality for a residential property? Will I be able to make out a license plate from about 20-30 feet away in the day or night time? I don't have acres of land so I'm not looking for something that will record very far. It says it has 85ft of night time recording distance which I'm ok with.

Finally, as a general guide, if I buy a 1TB HDD, how long of recorded footage am I expected to get? I found a source which said:

@30FPS and 1280X1024, then I can expect about 8 days of footage (or 2 days since there are 4 cameras). But I'm not sure if it's applicable for this setup.

https://www.seagate.com/files/staticfiles/docs/pdf/whitepaper/video-surv-storage-tp571-3-1202-us.pdf

Thanks for any help in advance!

For example it says it records at 12 FPS but plays back at 30 FPS. Any issues? Also is the quality true 1080p? I.e. I see 960H and 800TVL, do these contradict the fact that it could be 1080p?

Hi. It is way off 1080p it is just a basic analog system

The spec is put in such away to sell but forget the spec it's all crap

Records at 12fps .... But playback is 30fps .... That can't happen

Onvif..... Is more crap for a analog system

If you have a better budget I would go cvi or IP .... Even if you go down to only 4 cameras you will get better images