Sign in to follow this  
corekkz1

Any feedback on outdoor Nest Cam ? Or other recommendations?

I was considering buying/installing a tribrid DVR with EX-SDI,which from what I've read are the best, or HD-tvi or HD-cdi camera

The challenge is I'm not very tech savvy when it comes to cameras , I need something quick and easy to install. So while researching online I came across the Outdoor Nest Cam. Cost around $200

I like the fact that it's easy to set up and I don't have to drill holes thru my house.Don't really like the $10 per month fee for the cloud but I can live wiht it I guess.

It only comes with a 25 ft cable. Can I extend the length of the cable and how can I secure the camera itself / plug (since it's gonna be outdoors)?

The only thing I didn;t understand is can I view the cameras live on a monitor/TV?

Also can I view them from 3 different places- my house office,living room and bedroom?

Also I think I can talk thru the cam,correct?

Anyone had those? What is your experience and recommendations?

Thanks a lot !

They are wireless cameras, so they are just as good as your wireless network. If you are looking at the outdoors one, make sure you have great signal up to where you are going to install it.

Also they are full HD and do upload the footage to google (Nest is google), so if you are looking to install many of them, they will use up your upload speed.

Other than that, they are pretty good and really easy to install. You can view them from your phone or via a web browser on your nest account.

Thank you for your reply.I guess I'll buy 1 to try it out but I'm still considering setting up a system with a Tribrid DVR.

Would every camera work with a Tribrid DVR and what are the best cameras out there?

Thanks!

Please not that Nest cams cannot be connected to a DVR. They are connected to the could and all storage and viewing is through google's servers.

I would go with IP cams from Dahua or Hikvision.