Sign in to follow this  
bstage

Need a product recomendation

I've got a large home in the country (USA Minnesota) and need to set up a system for my home. I'm intent on 3mp+ for resolution and want POE for ease of installation. I'm a contractor so the install isn't a problem but I'd like software that doesn't make me aggravated. Please give me some links to systems with storage and 4-6 cameras

I've got a large home in the country (USA Minnesota) and need to set up a system for my home. I'm intent on 3mp+ for resolution and want POE for ease of installation. I'm a contractor so the install isn't a problem but I'd like software that doesn't make me aggravated. Please give me some links to systems with storage and 4-6 cameras

I'd recommend what I did, Hikvision turrets (or dome or bullet if you prefer). They're fairly cheap and seem to be reliable and well-liked, and have withstood a little over 1 year of MN weather. For storage/NVR, I personally can't recommend an off-the-shelf system; it locks you in to it's faults and if you don't like something about it, you're screwed. I built my own NVR with simply a computer and a license of Xeoma, but use whatever software you prefer. I've found Xeoma to be light on resource requirements, reliable and nearly idiot-proof. Those items together with a PoE network switch, or non-PoE along with a midspan from Ebay. Even new midspans that retail for hundreds of dollars sell on ebay for 1/10 that.

I've had this type of system running for over a year and I'm very happy with it.