ericz

PoE system in garage linked to house router by Zyxel EoP?

Hi All,

I am totally new to security cameras but need to set something up for garage / backyard as well as house / front porch.

My 16 x 18 garage is on an alley and our privacy-fenced backyard is small. Maybe 40' from alley gate to back porch. I want to put a camera inside the garage, then have three more outside: two facing down the alley left and right, and the third facing towards the back porch. I also will have a second system with cameras inside the house at front and back doors, as well as outside at front porch and side walkways. But this post is more about the garage setup.

The garage is wired for power, but not for phone or cat 5. So I was wondering if I could set up my system with an NVR and four PoE cameras and then connect the system to the Verizon FiOS router in the house with Zyxel ethernet-over-power adapters.

At this point I am still looking at systems, so I might post some other messages relating to actual component combinations as well as in-house system setup, but first I wanted to ask this question about getting the data from the garage back to the house. It's too far for reliable WiFi, so I thought about the Zyxel solution since I already have the adaptors and they work really well for regular data around the house.

Thanks in advance,

Eric

Hi All,

I am totally new to security cameras but need to set something up for garage / backyard as well as house / front porch.

My 16 x 18 garage is on an alley and our privacy-fenced backyard is small. Maybe 40' from alley gate to back porch. I want to put a camera inside the garage, then have three more outside: two facing down the alley left and right, and the third facing towards the back porch. I also will have a second system with cameras inside the house at front and back doors, as well as outside at front porch and side walkways. But this post is more about the garage setup.