Server/Site upgrade December 14th - 16th



View unanswered posts | View active topics


Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
  
 Post subject: 4 channels 2 cameras can I view 2 screens?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:48 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 7

Offline
New user just getting used to my swann 4980 but for the life of me I can't suss how to view 2 screens, it's either 1 or 4.

Ideally I'd like my main view to be most of the screen and my other view to be a smaller box in the corner. Is this possible? Were should I be looking in the menu? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: 4 channels 2 cameras can I view 2 screens?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:02 pm 
Installer

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 977
Location: Australia

Offline
Swann are pretty basic systems. The firmware is such that you can see 1 , 4 , 8 or 16 cameras on a screen. There are other brands that provide a PIP (picture in picture) format that you are seeking

_________________
Licenced Security Installer & Trainer
ECC , BEE


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: 4 channels 2 cameras can I view 2 screens?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:45 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 7

Offline
Well that's the preferred option off the cards.

What about a single screen that comes on when the camera detects movement? I have a camera pointing at the front of my driveway and a camera pointing towards the driveway at the rear of my property. Could I set it up so as when the camera at the front detects movement that camera is shown on screen, but as the car/person moves down my drive the camera at the back will show on screen as the second camera picks up movement?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: 4 channels 2 cameras can I view 2 screens?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:15 am 
Installer

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 977
Location: Australia

Offline
Again , some will have it & some wont. It is usually called "motion pop up". The current DVR I use at my house has it but it is a 10 y o no name brand and standard def analogue at that. I haven't seen it on any of the HD DVRs. Why they dropped it I dont know , it is a very useful feature

_________________
Licenced Security Installer & Trainer
ECC , BEE


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:23 pm
cron

The contents of this webpage are copyright © 2003-2016 CCTVForum.com. All Rights Reserved.