BiloxiGeek

Which DVR for getting shell access?

I'm researching the purchase of a DVR for a basic home surveillance set up. I'd like to find one that has 8 channels, IP cameras with nighttime LED's, POE ports so I don't have to mess with power adapters and cables, 1080 video would be nice, but I could probably live with less. Initially I'll probably have 3 or 4 cameras, but I'd like the extra channels in case I decide to expand later on.

I've found a few models out there that have all that but there's one thing I'm having difficulty figuring out. I'm a SysAdmin by trade with quite a few years of Linux experience. I'd really like to find a surveillance DVR setup that I can get root access via ssh into the thing. I don't mind opening it up and poking around a bit. Hopefully someone around these forums can give a tip on which DVR's can be tweaked to allow access into the OS.

So far the Lorex and Swann DVR's seem to fit my requirements but I can't tell if shell access is gonna be doable on them.

If you send me an PM with your email address, I can give you a list. For security reasons, I won't post publicly.

FYI, these also have security exploits because of the telnet access and poor security coding.

Mind posting what DVR/NVR model numbers you are looking into getting as well as if you can find some type of firmware update image for them? Also, be aware that there are many IP camera's that run the EXACT same ARM CPU's as the DVR's, using the same insecure HighEasy Linux distro/SDK, not only that they inherit some of the same instability issues as the Chinese DVR's sold. I'd be curious to look at the firmware and see if I can find a method to get into them.