Sign in to follow this  
WiseSolutionLLC

Rolling Camera Picture

Hey Everyone,

I am new to the forums so hello to all. I have been doing CCTV and Security work for about 8 years professionally now. I have run into a problem that I cannot figure out what is causing the issue. I have a house that consists of a main house and a pool house. I have a 16ch HD unit and 9 cameras on the main house. I have 3 cameras on the pool house. They all are using cat5e and video baluns to transmit the signal. The 9 cameras on the house are connected to an individual power supply in the house and are working flawlessly. The 3 on pool house however are giving me some trouble. I have 2 direct burial cat5e wires that are piped underground to the pool house and a separate power supply in the pool house for the 3 cameras out there. The 3 cameras are rolling, but when I turn the power off of the power supply in the main house the rolling stops. When I turn it back on it starts to roll again. I have removed the ground from the power supplies and it still continues to roll. I have tried using a ground loop isolator on the video feed and it clears it up some but they are CVI cameras and they will not work with the analog isolator. I can't run new wires to the pool house because this was done years ago by the former Company they had doing their work. I am stuck and need some advice. Thank You!

Hi. Sounds like a phase problem.

How far is the pool house from house ... with you having two cat cables can you not use 1 cat for the 3 cameras and the other cat just for power.

The wires from the house to pool house are roughly 200-250ft I would guess. Im not positive of the path they took underground. The reason I put a power supply in the pool house is to not have to use the second cat5. They have a total of 3 running underground. 1 is bad, 1 is used for the cameras and the other is set aside for the network expansion they are wanting to do.

Makes me wonder why the bad cable is bad.