View unanswered posts | View active topics


Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:54 am 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 331

Offline
slovey wrote:
I am installing an HD-CVI 960p system on my property (business) and I have cable runs that go up to 200 meters. I want to know if I can get by using rg59 (solid copper, high quality, direct burial - something I already have) or if I will be better served by rg6 (same quality as rg59).
Essentially, I am asking if I stand to gain anything in the way of image quality by using rg6 at that distance. OR, at what distance would rg6 make a difference in image quality - assuming all cables are high quality, solid copper?

As long as full copper RG59 or RG6 also will give the same quality @200 meter


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:25 pm 
User avatar
Registered User

Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 595
Location: New York

Offline
msecure wrote:
slovey wrote:
I am installing an HD-CVI 960p system on my property (business) and I have cable runs that go up to 200 meters. I want to know if I can get by using rg59 (solid copper, high quality, direct burial - something I already have) or if I will be better served by rg6 (same quality as rg59).
Essentially, I am asking if I stand to gain anything in the way of image quality by using rg6 at that distance. OR, at what distance would rg6 make a difference in image quality - assuming all cables are high quality, solid copper?

As long as full copper RG59 or RG6 also will give the same quality @200 meter


Have you tested HDCVI with RG6 yourself? If so, do you know what the specs are on that RG6 cable?

We've had nearly 100% of our customers using RG6 end up with terrible results when using it with HDCVI.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:33 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 331

Offline
Don Stephens wrote:
msecure wrote:
slovey wrote:
I am installing an HD-CVI 960p system on my property (business) and I have cable runs that go up to 200 meters. I want to know if I can get by using rg59 (solid copper, high quality, direct burial - something I already have) or if I will be better served by rg6 (same quality as rg59).
Essentially, I am asking if I stand to gain anything in the way of image quality by using rg6 at that distance. OR, at what distance would rg6 make a difference in image quality - assuming all cables are high quality, solid copper?

As long as full copper RG59 or RG6 also will give the same quality @200 meter


Have you tested HDCVI with RG6 yourself? If so, do you know what the specs are on that RG6 cable?

We've had nearly 100% of our customers using RG6 end up with terrible results when using it with HDCVI.

What do you mean by terrible results? Is the video with interference or no signal at all? Any video clips?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:59 pm 
User avatar
Registered User

Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 595
Location: New York

Offline
Sorry, I don't even have still shots anymore for you. I would describe it as interference, but cable is being run totally independent from anything else. I admittedly don't have a lot of experience using RG6 so I can't even touch what the problem might be for these people. I was prepared to call it "user error", but for almost all of them to be doing it wrong seems unlikely. Most of these people have been installing for 20+ years.

The fact that swapping the cable for good RG59 solved the issue on all accounts tells me that it's got to be cable related.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:51 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 19

Offline
There are other issues to consider such as the quality and type of cable. The rg59 might have been a much better cable in most or all of those situations. I don't know how many anecdotal examples you have, but maybe the rg6 cable was copper clad aluminum (CCA). I have read that hdcvi video starts to degrade pretty rapidly over aluminum. I know there are far fewer choices of rg6 than rg59 cable available and it is possible that those installs were done with inferior cable, though less likely if you have a lot of examples.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:09 am 
User avatar
Registered User

Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 595
Location: New York

Offline
slovey wrote:
There are other issues to consider such as the quality and type of cable. The rg59 might have been a much better cable in most or all of those situations. I don't know how many anecdotal examples you have, but maybe the rg6 cable was copper clad aluminum (CCA). I have read that hdcvi video starts to degrade pretty rapidly over aluminum. I know there are far fewer choices of rg6 than rg59 cable available and it is possible that those installs were done with inferior cable, though less likely if you have a lot of examples.



You're definitely correct about HDCVI degrading over CCA. I can honestly say though that these guys are using solid copper. I know because they made me sell it to them against my advice :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:25 am 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 331

Offline
Don Stephens wrote:
slovey wrote:
There are other issues to consider such as the quality and type of cable. The rg59 might have been a much better cable in most or all of those situations. I don't know how many anecdotal examples you have, but maybe the rg6 cable was copper clad aluminum (CCA). I have read that hdcvi video starts to degrade pretty rapidly over aluminum. I know there are far fewer choices of rg6 than rg59 cable available and it is possible that those installs were done with inferior cable, though less likely if you have a lot of examples.



You're definitely correct about HDCVI degrading over CCA. I can honestly say though that these guys are using solid copper. I know because they made me sell it to them against my advice :lol:

Are you very sure about your source for the full copper RG6?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:36 am 
User avatar
Registered User

Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 595
Location: New York

Offline
msecure wrote:
Don Stephens wrote:
slovey wrote:
There are other issues to consider such as the quality and type of cable. The rg59 might have been a much better cable in most or all of those situations. I don't know how many anecdotal examples you have, but maybe the rg6 cable was copper clad aluminum (CCA). I have read that hdcvi video starts to degrade pretty rapidly over aluminum. I know there are far fewer choices of rg6 than rg59 cable available and it is possible that those installs were done with inferior cable, though less likely if you have a lot of examples.



You're definitely correct about HDCVI degrading over CCA. I can honestly say though that these guys are using solid copper. I know because they made me sell it to them against my advice :lol:

Are you very sure about your source for the full copper RG6?


Over the years, I've learned to assume that anything that comes from China is a lie (sorry China). For that reason, everything is verified when it comes into our warehouse, and again before it leaves; this includes cutting into cable to ensure it's what it's supposed to be.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:51 pm 
User avatar
Registered User

Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 595
Location: New York

Offline
I wanted to update this thread real quick since I haven't seen anyone post any low light images yet for HDCVI. I've posted a couple screenshots before showing how CVI compares to IP in daylight conditions. The easiest way to describe the difference between them was that CVI presented itself well as far as clarity was concerned but the contrast always seemed to be faded when compared side by side with IP. Low light is kind of nasty as I see it. If you haven't seen the previous images, on the left we have a Dahua IP 2MP Aptina sensor at 3.6mm, and on the right is a Dahua HDCVI 2MP "DH5000" sensor (presumably) at 3.6mm. The ambient lighting outside is significant enough that the IR boards to remain off. The only advantage the CVI camera seems to have here is the amount of noise going on in the image. That being said, I haven't touched the settings on either camera yet. I'll add that I also have a Dahua 2MP IP PTZ (no IR) out there right now as well with a Sony sensor and the amount of noise is about dead even between that and the HDCVI camera.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Please sign-in or register to view or download.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:04 am 
Registered User

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 19

Offline
Does anyone know of a reliable video test monitor for HDCVI? Or, of a converter from HDCVI to NTSC/PAL so that an analog monitor can be used?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:47 am 
User avatar
Dealer

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2928
Location: Canada,Alberta

Offline
slovey wrote:
Does anyone know of a reliable video test monitor for HDCVI? Or, of a converter from HDCVI to NTSC/PAL so that an analog monitor can be used?

Any HD-CVI DVR are your "converter"

_________________
Avigilon Certified Partner and Distributor
Canada


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 9:51 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 13

Offline
What do you mean by analog monitor?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:41 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 493

Offline
You are right Don. One of my friend have test same examination, put DAHUA 1080P IPC and CVI, but fortunately, CVI can't show up equivalent qaulity. Even HikVision same poor result, so I wondering why.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:48 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 9

Offline
Quick Question:

Using HD-SDI signal, I was told I have to use rg59 or rg6 with full copper.
Is "full copper coax cable" meaning full copper conductor and full copper braid as well? or Can I use full copper conductor with cca braid?
https://www.honeywellcable.com/CatalogDocuments/RG59-BC-Shield-vs-CCA-Shield.pdf
I have been using Honeywell 6508 cables(full copper conductor/cca braid).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:51 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 331

Offline
xodid2 wrote:
Quick Question:

Using HD-SDI signal, I was told I have to use rg59 or rg6 with full copper.
Is "full copper coax cable" meaning full copper conductor and full copper braid as well? or Can I use full copper conductor with cca braid?
https://www.honeywellcable.com/CatalogD ... Shield.pdf
I have been using Honeywell 6508 cables(full copper conductor/cca braid).

Just full copper conductor will be fine but make sure cable rated as 3GHz.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:47 am

The contents of this webpage are copyright © 2003-2016 CCTVForum.com. All Rights Reserved.