View unanswered posts | View active topics


Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
  
 Post subject: Testing Hd-SDI cam
PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 4:39 pm 
Registered User

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 4

Offline
Hi

We ordered a HD-SDI PTZ for the sole purpose of sending video to a HDMI projector.

We also purchased this converter box http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ex-Pro%C2%AE-SDI-HDMI-Mini-Converter/dp/B00ATQ26M0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1447796112

When we connect the camera to the converter box the SDI lock light flickers but we get no picture on the screen.

We know the converter is 100% working so that can be rules out as being faulty.

We don't have the a HD-SDI DVR to plug the camera in to test if it is working so is there anything else we can plug in to see if it is outputting video?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Testing Hd-SDI cam
PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 4:55 pm 
User avatar
Integrator

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 7399

Offline
Hi. SDI is so cheap to buy would it not be best for you to get a 4 way DVR.

you can go HDMI direct from dvr plus the dvr will also give you control of your ptz


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Testing Hd-SDI cam
PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 5:04 pm 
Registered User

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 4

Offline
We just wanted to feed the video from the camera straight to the projector.

We don't want to a DVR and we have already have a software controller for the PTZ.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Testing Hd-SDI cam
PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 8:04 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 873

Offline
IA76 wrote:
We just wanted to feed the video from the camera straight to the projector.

We don't want to a DVR and we have already have a software controller for the PTZ.


Within my limited knowledge,
the HD-SDI format for the raw -video output from HD-SDI cameras is not in HDMI format. Both are different. You need a receiver to convert HD-SDI format into RGB video format then RGB to HDMI. It can be done by HD-SDI DVRs with HDMI output capable.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Testing Hd-SDI cam
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:21 pm 
Registered User

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 4

Offline
I did already say that we are using a converter box. This coverts HD-SDI to HDMI.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Testing Hd-SDI cam
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:47 am 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 313

Offline
IA76 wrote:
I did already say that we are using a converter box. This coverts HD-SDI to HDMI.

I am using a similar SDI to HDMI converter without any problem. It's best for you to troubleshoot the fault this way:-
Try bring your SDI camera to a shop that sells SDI DVR, see if they willing to let you try, if that works that means you might have gotten yourself a spoilt converter.
Also, you can bring along the converter and test with their SDI Camera. BTW, where did you buy the SDI PTZ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

It is currently Fri Jan 20, 2017 4:45 am

The contents of this webpage are copyright © 2003-2016 CCTVForum.com. All Rights Reserved.