chasaway

Kind of bizarre CCTV/DVR setup - I need help!

I need some help. I've done a LOT of research, reading, talking to folks...and I'm really not getting anywhere. Maybe I'm not very good at communicating my problem/intended set up.

I’m a private investigator. I’m trying to build a self-contained, 12-volt surveillance camera rig that I can set up in a vehicle. I want to be able to both run it off of the vehicle’s power or off of a battery pack. In other words, if a vehicle has an "always on" accessory plug, I can use it. But if it doesn't, I've got power anyway. [i’ve already got the battery pack set up].

The idea is to be able to leave a vehicle unmanned, but still be able to obtain recordings of a subject's movements.

I want this rig to be portable; to be able to be moved from vehicle to vehicle or from place to place, without sacrificing the relatively covert status. That means most of the rig should be easily concealable. Remembering that I want it portable, that probably means in a case of some type...including a monitor to ensure the focus and aim is correct.

Further, the subjects I'm usually surveilling are 100 yds to 1/4 mile away. So dashcams/backup cams won't do. I have to hang my own cameras off of this DVR. That probably means a composite/RCA connector to the DVR. (Though I'm open to anything here!)

I have a DVR that I’ve been using for years, that was taken from one of those school bus rigs. But the video is in a proprietary format that requires that I go through several very painful steps, using untold (and generally unbilled) hours to generate usable video for my clients.

I’d like to get to where I’m capturing the video on an SD card or HDD in a format that’s easier to transfer to media for my client. It'll need to be time/date stamped, at minimum. GPS isn't required.