aytons

Newb questions... what is the max resolution for analog?

So, I'm pretty new to the cctv... Been messing around with Zoneminder for a few weeks and have a few web cams, an 878a based capture card, and a single analog camera. Pretty much in the testing phase.. This is a home installation with limited, budget so factor that into the nature of my question..

Over on the Zoneminder forums I've read that the max resolution one can get using their system with analog cameras and capture cards is NTSC or PAL standard of 320x240 and 384x288 respectively. I've tried interlaced and it's not for me... the interlaced lines in the captured video are annoying and defeat the purpose. I tried a cheap IP camera with a higher resolution, but the motion blur introduced made it beside the point...

On the flip side, I've read a bunch and understand now what CIF, 2CIF, and 4CIF are... I've scene discussion here on these resolutions and I've seen youtube video's at resolutions over CIF, so my question is, why can't ZoneMinder, a higher quality capture card, and a good hi-res analog camera (e.g., good quality, 1/3" had lens, 540TVL, etc) and capture resolutions higher than 320x240 or 384x288 without interlacing?

I'm sure a huge part of it is the capture card max resolution, and then perhaps the compression algorithm going into zoneminder (e.g, mpeg2, mpeg4, or h264)... But if that's the case, why can't I buy a capture card capable of 4CIF and use that with ZoneMinder? Clearly, with webcams and ip cams, ZM is capable of supporting higher resolutions...

Much, much appreciation if someone can please clarify this for me?

aytons

I'm not familiar with ZoneMinder specifically, but at a guess...

* It simply doesn't support higher resolutions with analog capture cards

* You're not looking at the right capture cards

* The cards you're looking at aren't using good drivers

* The people you're asking don't know any better (offhand I'd give this the best chance)