Server upgrade postponed



View unanswered posts | View active topics


Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
  
 Post subject: Can I recover old data?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:08 am 
Registered User

Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 2

Offline
I wonder if someone might help me with a query.

I have a Vistron "AHD.DVR-4V" CCTV system which is set to record and review over a 30 day period.

The unit contains a hard drive which I suspect is way bigger, in capacity, than is required to record just 30 days.

At the end of each 30 days, the unit starts counting the next thirty days - meaning that the Menu only allows me to review each past 30 day period.

I am wondering if means it automatically over-writes the earlier recordings or simply only make the past thirty days available through the menu, yet write to different area(s) of the hard drive, which would make it technically possible to recover the older recordings through interrogating the drive via either and/or a PC or Mac.

Has anyone any experience of retrieving old data, in this manner, who would be willing to advise please?

If it is possible, would I need any propriety software?

I have made enquiries of the manufacturer (based in Singapore) but suspect the unit may actually be a generic model being marketed under a variety of guises and the "manufacturer" seems disinclined to even acknowledge my email enquiries of them.

Thank you. :D


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Can I recover old data?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 5:58 pm 
Installer

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 972
Location: Australia

Offline
This is what "usually" happens. You set your frame rate and resolution. This results in a recording capacity depending on the size of your hard drive. Recording is done in "blocks" - often 2Mb. So when you first power up an installation there will be nothing available for viewing until that first block of 2Mb is recorded. Similarly when overwriting , it is progressively done in 2Mb blocks. If yours is set up this way then the only way to extend recording capacity is to install a bigger hard drive or or drop your frame rate/ resolution settings.
The other way some can be set up is to nominate a recording storage period ( lets say 30 days ) and the frame rate / resolution is automatically adjusted to enable that period to take place

_________________
Licenced Security Installer & Trainer
ECC , BEE


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 12:42 am

The contents of this webpage are copyright © 2003-2016 CCTVForum.com. All Rights Reserved.