View unanswered posts | View active topics


Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
  
 Post subject: Help - Dahua HDCVI- stuck with wrong resolution/fps - no OSD
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:45 am 
Registered User

Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 2

Offline
Hello Fellas,

I'm new to this forum and this is my first post. I'm facing an extremely frustrating problem. I bought a Dahua DVR (XVR4108 of 720P/1080N resolution) and a bullet HDCVI camera Dahua HAC-HFW-1220R of 2MP resolution. In fact if I had gone for a 1MP camera it would not have caused this trouble, I just bought it because I was told it was supported and I got it cheap.

Now while experimenting with the OSD menu of the camera I wrongly put the video resolution to 720p/50 fps and since that time the DVR doesn't show any video. It is black, no OSD even, and displays a message "Invalid Camera Format". I have tried so many things but the camera doesn't go to the factory settings nor does it display the OSD. There is no reset button on the body of the camera nor any reset cable. Tried shorting the BNC, reversing the power polarity...nothing works. I have struggled for many hours now lastly turning to this forum. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

http://www.dahuasecurity.com/download/DH-HAC-HFW1220R_User_Manual_20160922.pdf

Best Regards,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Help - Dahua HDCVI- stuck with wrong resolution/fps - no
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:37 am 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 17

Offline
Cop wrote:
I bought a Dahua DVR (XVR4108 of 720P/1080N resolution) and a bullet HDCVI camera Dahua HAC-HFW-1220R of 2MP resolution. In fact if I had gone for a 1MP camera it would not have caused this trouble, I just bought it because I was told it was supported and I got it cheap.

Now while experimenting with the OSD menu of the camera I wrongly put the video resolution to 720p/50 fps and since that time the DVR doesn't show any video. It is black, no OSD even, and displays a message "Invalid Camera Format".


You have my sympathy and I'm afraid little else as we work with Speco and Truvision depending on how serious the customer is. We put together a huge system with 4MP cameras on the outside and 2MP on the inside. Our sales rep didn't bother to mention that the 4MP IP cameras wouldn't be worth a **** on the NVR that only supported 1080P... I wanted to find the rep and smack him with one of the NVRs. We had to set the resolution on the cameras to 2MP to make them work and now are having to get a new 16 channel NVR that can handle recording 4K resolutions.

I made up a little card to help line up camera resolutions to recording formats and perhaps this will help you in future endevours. I will try to put it up here, we shall see what it looks like...

Monitor Resolutions Camera Resolutions
Standard Aspect Width (px) Height (px) Standard Width (px) Height (px) Total (px)
SVGA 4:3 800 600 D1 704 480 337,920
WXGA/HD TV 16:9 1280 720 1MP/720P 1280 720 921,600
SXGA 5:4 1280 1024 1.3MP/960P 1280 1024 1,310,720
Full HD 16:9 1920 1080 2MP/1080P 1920 1080 2,073,600
WUXGA 16:10 1920 1200 2.3MP 1920 1200 2,304,000
WQHD 16:9 2560 1440 3MP 2048 1536 3,145,728
4K UHD 16:9 3840 2160 4MP 2240 1680 3,763,200
4K UHD 16:9 3840 2160 5MP 2592 1944 5,038,848
4K UHD 16:9 3840 2160 6MP 3032 2008 6,088,256
8K UHD 16:9 7680 4320 8MP 3264 2448 7,990,272


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Help - Dahua HDCVI- stuck with wrong resolution/fps - no
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 11:03 am 
Registered User

Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 2

Offline
Thanks MrMxyzptlk, I appreciate the info you posted and it will surely come handy in the coming days. For the present I'm stuck with this brick. Do you think it will display the video if I connect it to a 2MP DVR or a Full HD LED monitor (using RCA converter) for that matter?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: Help - Dahua HDCVI- stuck with wrong resolution/fps - no
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 5:59 am 
Registered User

Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 3

Offline
I had same problem today. Connect the non HDCVI output to another channel. You should be able to see video. Now, you can send PTZ commands from "Invalid Camera Format" channel and see what you are doing from the non HDCVI channel.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yandex [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:53 pm

The contents of this webpage are copyright © 2003-2016 CCTVForum.com. All Rights Reserved.