itsmo

Video over Powerline?

Hi, I'm new here. Be gentle!

I am building my first surveillance system for our small apartment building, as we have limited means to secure against burglary and we've been hit several times.

One [hidden] camera location is just not very conducive to running cabling to the DVR, but there is AC power accessible, and its on the same leg as my apartment - has worked with X10 devices before.

Is there a "video over powerline" module that works well, for one camera, with a composite input? (Ethernet would require a bulkier, more conspicuous camera).

My 20-year experience with "powerline"-like devices is that most burn out, sometimes in a month, sometimes a year, but few last very long. So I don't mind buying used or old stock if anyone here has been running one successfully for several years.

Thanks for your advice.

I have been using X10 for 15 years or so, and am very familiar with it. I also have a video over powerline security camera system, that is pretty reliable, and reasonably in expensive.