renz05725

IP Camera and Remote viewing

I have a customer that wants to set up 2 ip cameras at his location. He wants to be able to log in with 3-5 other users at the same time and view what is going on at his location.

I am not sure how this works, will 2 frames per second be sufficent and not chew up his dsl bandwidth? He told me that another company had told him he would need at least 3mb of upstream off of his dsl to do this, which is basically pushing him to a t1 of internet... is this true/realistic?

What should i know or be looking at if i even attempt to get this project going?

I'm a newbie here and have found this place to be like Disney Land for newbies trying to learn...

2fps should be fine over DSL, especially if the cameras have H.264 streaming. If the bandwidth is really limited (I know some providers limit the upstream to 128kbit), you could always push the video to a video streaming/hosting site, and the users can view it from that link instead of going direct to the cameras.

does the amount of users logged in matter or affect bandwidth? This company has 768kbps upstream and 3mbps downstream as the speed of their dsl.

basically he wants to view his convienence stores in pecos, tx from dallas tx. He wants to view live video of them and see if they are working and where they are at in a given time. He wants to be able to access from where ever he is at (he is indian from india and wants access from india when he is over there). Plus he wants his gm's, local managers and himself to be all online at the same store discussing what is going on.

is this possible with this type of upstream at 2fps and is 2fps enough to give decent video at medium quality 320x what ever it is? No video storage is necessary, what they are really after is viewing the live footage.

What ip camera(s) would you recommend? Is there a way of getting these cameras linked up on one location (via internet) to be viewed as needed/wanted?