Chrispy66

Quality issues or not?

Hello all. I am a newbie, so please excuse my ignorance. I am amazed at the amount of knowledge in this forum. I can only hope to gain a fraction of your knowledge and I will condider myself a lucky man.

My question is vague, but any and all responses will be helpfull. I recently purchased a home in a high crime area. With this said, i opted to purchase a video surveillance system. Due to the current economy, my budget was limited so I purchased the following products from a company I'm sure you have all heard of, "Security cameras Direct" My setup is:

4 x 6042ir2 Day/Night vision 130' ir cams

2 x 6042ir3 '' '' '' 165' ir cams

3 x Swann cheap 50' ir cams

1 x 9 channel regulated power supply box (12volt)

1 x 9 channel DVR (security cameras direct 9004 w/160g hd)

1 x 22" high def 1080p LCD monitor

All cameras are within 100' of my monitor and are run with decent quality BNC connectors and wires. I even run the power supply box through a filter on a seperate circuit in the house to prevent interfeirance. my picture qualty is fair at best and i dont think focus is an option on these scd cams. Any suggestions?

Looking through those products the biggest issues seem to be resolution related. Even the "expensive" camera in the bunch only offers 420 lines of resolution.

Only way to improve that would be increasing the quality of the cameras your using. That said 100 more lines of resolution (on a 520 Hi-Res cam) is only going to go so far.

Maybe now that you've been there longer you are more familair with "key" areas that you'd want to focus on and replace only those cameras. Basically I'd find a more specific use for my system before upgrading things, if it's just to keep a general eye out you'd be looking at replacing the entire system to get the better picture across the board.