thewatcher

Analogue or Digital? Designing a PC based CCTV / DVR

Hi, first time posting, been lurking for a coupla weeks now, great resource, woulda been a bit lost without your help so far , Thanx! I am a newbie to the CCTV world and am setting up a CCTV system at a property.

I have just built a new PC to use for CCTV / DVR monitoring station, I need to view & control up to 8 camera’s (2 internal & 6 external) but will be starting with 4 external cameras & adding more in future.

My questions are: should I go analogue or digital on this system? Does my budget decide this already?

I am savvy with IT / technology and want this to be a PC based monitoring / recording setup that I will build myself; I want real time recording & display so would need minimum 200fps display & recording but would be happy to pay for more to allow upgrade options / additional cameras. Audio may be required in future but only on up to 4 cameras.

I am happy with the cameras / lenses options out there but need some help with the PC card or DVR end of things. I have looked at (& researched in forum) for Geovision & Iview for analogue, as well as Axis for IP options; does anyone know the prices for other IP software options? i.e. milestone, vcs; indigo??

I understand from this forum that there are pro’s and cons to both options BUT I have a limited budget, my heart says IP but my head (& pocket) says analogue. I am ONLY interested in LEGIT badged & boxed products, no cheap’n’nasty copies or Rogue hardware/ software . Reliability & Functionality a premier need, but obviously as I have been looking at Geo, Iview & Axis you’ll get the gist of what I like thus far!

If you had UK £4000 to spend on equipment and had built the PC already, which route would you go?? I’m not interested in getting a Co in to do this as: my time installing = more budget for better kit.

All advice gratefully received so thanx in advance for your help;

PC spec is;

Mainboard: Asus P4C800E-Deluxe