JeffWasHere

Newbie Here :) tryin to build a system

Well first off great forums here i have been trying to learn about cctv for the last 12 hours lol and i am about to pass out!

Pretty much i am trying to start a small business installing somewhat simple cctv dvr's in peoples home for all the reasons... recording, internet viewing, etc... i was really hoping to be able to get a 3 camera system with dvr for around $300us.. i see it is possible when going with some of these zmodo products.

I have learned reading here that u definetly want a dvr that is at least pentaplex and can record in d1.. hope im not breaking a rule here but it seems this package has these http://cgi.ebay.com/4-Channel-CCTV-Surveillance-Security-DVR-Camera-System-/180511751403?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a0756bceb So guess im wondering if this would be a decent buy? is the recording software any good?

I notice the cameras are 1/4" sony ccd...... Am i correct in assuming that a 1/3" sony ccd is better? and i think i gathered that tvlines dont matter?

Anyways Me and a partner are serious about starting this business. If anyone can help me with a distributor that could possibly make a deal.. i would always get my kits from them. We already have multiple people who want us to install them.

I am somewhat familiar with recording software as i use Blueiris on my home pc with multiple webcams/ipcams but i realize the difficulty of most people being able to maintain a pc so i would rather use a dvr.

Thanks very much for any help!

Jeff

Let me first say, welcome to the forum!

Look, I've been in your posistion. I've been there done that. Cheap Chinese crap are not products ANYONE should buy, much less base a business on.