leesiulung

Help: Security System DIY

This might be off topic, but I'm thinking of installing a security system myself. My budget is less than $300-500 (cheaper is better) and easy to do myself i.e. I'm a total beginner with little patience when it comes to fixing the home.

Maybe a security system with cameras and opportunity for home automation in the future which most likely means something that can be connected to the internet is preferred. Right now I have nothing, no DVR, no camera, no panel and no sensor. I'm in California if that matters.

Just wondering if anyone have any suggestions?

By security system, do you mean alarms system? Or a camera recording system?

I honestly would say you should save up money under your budget is higher, for that budget, you cannot get much that will be useful when its put to the test.

Now if you meant alarm system, yes, you can do that for under $500. Maybe go with a residential DSC 1832 system. I can PM you with a store that is dedicated to selling kits for these, they are very reasonably priced. DSC systems are very common in residential homes. (I have one!)

I actually don't know what I was really looking for. I was hoping for a alarm system combined with a camera system/dvr, but that sounds like out of the question.

1. How is the DSC system?

2. It looks like it uses a phone line to contact someone/me (?) if somebody tries to break in?

3. How does the wireless part work?

4. Does the wireless sensors use batteries? If not, is there an alternative way to power those devices rather than running thick power cords into the house?

I hate monthly fees so if I can avoid that, it would be great.

If you want a DIY type alarm system that is good also check out Powermax by visonic. Easy to install and program and not bad at all - my alarm background is I installed and serviced Ademco (Honeywell) for 6 years and still maintain some for the past 10 years.