mjctech

DIYer looking for some recommendations for new system

Hi i've been reading some post and you guys really know your stuff. I understand that often the best thing is to consult a professional but being an AV geek and handyman i cant bring myself to do it. I am not concerned about my inability to wire or install correctly but getting the right equipment and placing it correctly.

I am hoping to spend under $2,000. Would like a 6 channel dvr that will connect via Ethernet to my router so i can access it when i am away. I would prefer color and am looking to employ different types of cameras for best coverage. i have made a quick diagram outlining my property.

I am particurly interested in what brands are good for dvrs and cameras. but any advice or suggestions are welcome.

Thanks!

blueprint.jpg.085dc6d47aeda264d35234091d44b8e3.jpg

I am not a professional so don't feel qualified to advise on a whole system, but I just wanted to say nice diagram

hope you are successful in setting up a system that works well for you. There are plenty on here that will give you ideas and advice. Another idea is to get estimates and proposals from local professional companies.

(Obviously make sure they are free estimates) I think your approach is very realistic and honest.

Wishing you all the best.

I agree with numb nuts... you're on the right track. Good quality gear is important. Do it right so you can set it and forget it.

I prefer Cat5 for almost all cable runs... its so neat that it can run almost anything.

Things with Made in China stickers... seem to have more duds and things that catch fire than others.

Don't go with a packaged system, as the cameras incuded are usually next to worthless.

Your budget is very do-able for analog or 704x480 cameras.