IseeU2

Need OPINIONS on DVR purchase

I have been using a DIY PC based DVR for the past 12 years. It has been upgraded several times. The video card is now out and I am considering buying a stand alone system. The stand alones have improved quite a bit since I first started, and the lower power consumption will save several hundred over a year’s time. My needs are 8, or more channels, multiple monitors, simultaneous 1 computer the rest TV, internet access to viewing, and of course the best video in live and playback. My cameras are all analog. I am expecting to spend $500 – 1K

Does anyone have opinions on the following;

CSP-BCGEN8

CSP-EXTREME8DVR

If you google they come up easy. I would post a link but there may be forum rules against it.

I would appreciate any opinions and recommendations.

They are Dahua DVRs, distributed through Gen IV (Intellicam), cant go wrong with them.

That online store exaggerates it a little though, they ARE great bang for buck, though its still budget DVRs.

Live and network video can be awesome, even better than Geovision, the recorded video is not as good but still good enough and much better than many others, easy to distribute as well. They have their CONs but the PROs outweigh those. The larger units allow for more than 1 HDD and also loop out and spot monitor. Network support for many different Operating systems including Linux.

And yes these lower priced DVRs have got WAY better than they were in years gone by .. I was impressed when I got my hands on them for the first time last summer, since then installed a few of them including a 32 channel unit. In fact I use these over Geovision now, easy to install, plug and play, only took 3 minutes to setup the 32 channel for recording and network access!

Just dont expect any amazing HD video .. these are still just analog DVRs, and the cameras are also part of the limitation.