cameraguy7

Will this setup work? (Newbie in need of some help)

I'm completely new to CCTV cameras and am looking for some help. Specifically, I have a setup in mind and I'd like to know if it will work or not. My goal is basically to set up a camera outside in my backyard and have the ability to view and record the feed as necessary. My only requirements for the camera are that it needs to be weather proof, as it will be fully exposed to rain, snow, wind, freezing temperatures etc and that it needs to have a fairly wide angle view.

I already have Elgato Video Capture (link: http://www.elgato.com/elgato/na/mainmenu/products/Video-Capture/product1.en.html) which records video from analog sources to my Macbook, so that's what I plan to use to view and record the camera feed with.

For a camera, the VideoSecu IRX5 outdoor wide angle CCTV camera (link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003DZ6PQ2/) seems like a good and inexpensive choice, and I was planning on getting two 100 foot Video/Power BNC/RCA cables (link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000P8X65S/) to stretch from the camera through the backyard and into the house where it would plug into the Elgato video capture adapter. I'd connect the two 100 foot cables to each other using a BNC Female to Female coupler (link: http://www.amazon.com/BNC-Female-Coupler-Adapters-Pack/dp/B002A6CWCQ).

That's my plan, I'm just not at all sure that it'll work; like I said, I'm very new to this. So will that setup work? Would I need any additional adapters, cables etc in order to make everything connect and function properly? It's connecting the two 100 foot cables to each other and connecting the camera to the Elgato video capture adapter that I'm the least sure about. Thanks in advance for any help!