snik

Need Help Choosing System

Hello all, this is my first post and I am very new to CCTV equipment. I have a second home that I would like to setup a few cameras on.

I originally saw a few Zmodo kits on Ebay but I heard you get what you pay for.

I then saw a 4 CH DVR with a single camera for $200. Eventually I would like to have four cameras, but two will be fine to start out with. Is this a good system? Is the camera quality good ( Zmodo 420TVL vs Dahua 650TVL )

Are there any other manufacturers I am missing in this price range?

Welcome aboard!

Choice of camera depends somewhat on what you need the camera to do - different models are better for different purposes. Something that's going outdoors should be outdoor-rated and ideally vandal-resistant. For indoors, you might want something a little more discrete.

It also depends a lot on your budget - I recommend this CNB camera VCM-24VF as a really good, extremely versatile all-around camera with great picture and low-light performance... but it's also a little higher on the price scale than some of the others.

Thanks for your reply!

The cameras will be outdoor, but under a rooftop eve.

Also, it is a smaller house so I believe I can use 100ft or less of cable for each camera. In the case that I did need more cable, will the standard power supply for the camera be sufficient or does that need to be upgraded with longer cable? At what length should I be concerned about this?

For the money, would this model be the best all around camera? (meaning I could adjust the zoom to best suite its location)

Qvis EYE-N35-V2G-N Outdoor Eyeball Dome Security Camera 2.8-11mm 600 TVL

I would be very interested to know the difference in quality from the $165 and $68 cameras.