ljarrald

help with RS-232 serial comms?

i have some PIRs and beam sensors that i will soon be installing to cover several of my cameras FOV.

the detectors will put the DVR into 'event' mode. i am using sensors because i am fed up with the unreliability of using motion detection from the camera feed.

the only inputs my DVR has are alarm inputs which i DO NOT want to use!

the only way i can put the DVR into event mode externally is through the RS-232 port.

i have never done any serial comms before so don't really understand what the manual is telling me.

to start with, i will be using my computer to test things out (i already have a usb to rs232 adaptor)

please, could someone explain to me what the manual means? and what would i have to send to the DVR to, for example, put camera 3 into event mode, and then take camera 3 out of event mode?

thanks in advance!!!

193977_1.png

193977_2.png

193977_3.png

193977_4.png

193977_5.png

Your PIR would have to actually generate a string of ASCII characters to send to the serial port... I'm sure they exist, but they're probably pretty spendy. Plus you can only connect one device at a time to an RS-232 input port.

What you'd need is some sort of external unit that will take the various inputs from the sensors and generate the serial output accordingly. Note that there is a "camera" string in the message, which would tell it which camera to affect - this is so an input from one sensor isn't triggering ALL cameras to a different mode, but only the one camera associated with that sensor.

Something like these would do the trick:

http://www.advantechdirect.com/eMarketingPrograms/L021113P1%20Sensor/ADAM4052_page.htm

http://www.advantechdirect.com/eMarketingPrograms/L021113P1%20Sensor/ADAM4053_page.htm

http://www.advantechdirect.com/eMarketingPrograms/L021113P1%20Sensor/ADAM4050_page.htm

You'd still have to program it, of course, to send the messages in the format your DVR requires.

OR...