cirtemid

Swann DVR4-1300 questions

Hello all. This is my first time here. I just purchased this system at the new year and had a host of questions. I e-mailed Swann Tech support but got no response, so I am coming here in hope that you all can help me understand this system and its features better. Here goes:

1. The Overwrite function. Exactly how does this work? The options are Auto, 1 Hr, 30 days, 90 days. Does this mean that the unit will overwrite its files in the specified time period? So if I choose 1 Hr, does this mean the unit will overwrite files every hour? If I choose Auto, how does this option work? Does the unit overwrite even if the memory is not full?

2. VGA. I used the included RCA video cable to initially hook my DVR4-1300 to a flat-screen TV. Later I acquired a VGA cable that you would use to attach a laptop to a TV. When I used this cable on the DVR4-1300, nothing changed. Actually, the DVR does not recognize the VGA connection. If I choose the appropriate input on the TV to view the VGA connection, the screen is dark. The VGA connection on the TV is functional, as I attached a netbook to it and saw the netbook screen on the TV. I can only choose the input that uses the RCA connection if I want to see video from the DVR. I even chose VGA for the display option in the DVR menu and clicked Apply. Nothing changed. What do I do to use the VGA connection for the DVR?

3. When I use a Smartphone to connect to the DVR using SwannView, I constantly get a "Connect to Server Successful" message. Why is this happening? Everything is working, I am just wondering why I keep getting this message while I am viewing the cameras.