Louis2

How long will RG59 Siamese 18/2 cable last?

I’m a welding instructor for a technical school. We have a professionally installed CCTV security system, Mace box color cameras with RG59 18/2 Siamese cable.

The company that originally sold and installed the system to us sold out to someone else. We started having trouble with the system and were told that the video cards in the computer recorders were going bad and the cost of replacing them would not be worth it. We have purchased one new dvr from them, but a lot of the cameras on the good dvr and the old one are showing interference lines, like the old televisions did when you were turning the antenna trying to tune it in. You can guess I’m not a youngster.

We do not have a lot of funding as we are a state ran school and budgets are becoming as bare as “Old Mother Hubbard’s Cupboard”. We do not have anyone trained in this field and computers are kind of a hobby of mine. I can usually get lucky when I work on computers, but not having much luck figuring this stuff out.

We have been taking cameras to the office where the dvrs are and connecting them to a short cable to check and see if they are good. Ones that work good on the short cable we reinstall. We have reinstalled some of the twist type bnc connectors on camera and dvr end. This has helped on some cameras, but on some of the others it has had no effect at all. The picture was still just as bad.

Some of the 18/2 power cable has the coating just flake off when we are connecting it to the cameras. The lines have not been moved since installed about 6 years ago; they are lying on top of a drop ceiling. The system worked well when it was originally installed.