Sign in to follow this  
veesmack323

Network Novice Here....Cant figure this out...

Hey guys,

I have installed a Dahua IPC-HFW4300S without DVR (Live View Only), and I am trying to figure out how to view it remotely, from anywhere outside of the Home Network (IDMSS Lite Iphone or outside network). I have a Motorola SBG6580 and have attempted to Port Forward with no luck. I am not very network savvy so I am not sure if I am doing this correctly. On the Internal Side of the Forwarding screen I am using Ports 80, 37777, 37778 and the IP address of my Router (not sure if im supposed to be using the IP address of the camera but that doesnt work either). On the External Side I am leaving the IP blank (all zeros) and have tried leaving the Ports at 0, and matching them to the Internal Side (80, 37777, 37778). None of these have worked. What am I doing wrong here? Also, when I am attempting to access from an outside network via web address, what exactly do I type in the web address? I assume I cant just use the same IP as when I am on the home network because it is a generic IP that cant be recognized outside of the network (sorry if I confuse you guys, just trying to understand how this works). Thanks

Ig your public IP is ststic you would type that into the address field but if it is dynamic like most domestic accounts, it changes and would only work until it changes again. What you need is a DDNS account and hostname. By creating a hostname, your NVR can update the DDNS server when your public IP changes and by entering your hostname in the address bar, it directs all traffic to your network. If your port forwarding is done correctly, the router will forward requests for data to your NVR.

Creating a DYN dns account is simplicity itself and creating a hostname is even simpler.