If you got a job that required the use of more than 400 feet of PVC or EMT pipe, How would you go about doing this job? Would you find an electrician to run all of your piping or do you just do it yourself?

I asked because every job that i ever did that required piping i hated!! I dont have a problem with PVC, but EMT... Its hard to bend it if you dont know what your doing. So when you guys get jobs that require lots of pipe do you do it yourself or hiring electricians?

we run all of our own conduit, but we know how to cut and bend it properly so it's not much of a problem really..

we run all of our own conduit, but we know how to cut and bend it properly so it's not much of a problem really..

im not too good at it... PVC isn't so bad cause its easy to cut and bend

But PVC is not suitable for outdoors, especially in a hot, sunny climate. It will deteriorate badly within a relatively short time.

All kidding aside Education is a wonderful thing when used.

Google the following.

Benfield conduit video

Then buy the video -

watch the video -

watch the video -

watch the video.

If you are not sure watch the video 4 times. It is well worth the money invested on the first job you do after.

Get the Benfield Manual as well if you like but the video is much easier to understand.

Trust me "Been there and done that"!!!!! You will be sooooooo glad you did.

Hire an electrician/wire runner, this is CCTV, your a tech, do what you do best. If you have the time, the tools, and know how to do it, go for it, personally I wouldnt touch it, I would simply pay someone else, so I can spend more time on what I do (yeah yeah, layin in a hammock all day )

Edited by Guest

But PVC is not suitable for outdoors, especially in a hot, sunny climate. It will deteriorate badly within a relatively short time.

Hmmm, its all we use down here.