th111447

Dahua FW2100 Night Vision

Hi Guys-

I'm new to CCTV and recently purchased an NVR-3216 and one Dahua Fw2100 to test. I have the camera temporarily setup in my living room and when I turn off all the lights the night vision is very poor. I have a Foscam 8910 that blows this camera away in night vision mode. I love everything about it but the main reason I purchased it was for monitoring at night. Is there a way to adjust the quality via the NVR to get better night vision on the Dahau? Any suggestions on how to improve the night vision?

IR cut filter stuck in day mode (all IR filtered out)? Seems to be a problem in some of these. Set to day-only mode somehow in your settings?

Thanks for the reply Kawboy. So your indicating the IR filter is stuck in day mode and to set it to day mode and this will fix the IR filter so it switches to night mode?

Thanks for the reply Kawboy. So your indicating the IR filter is stuck in day mode and to set it to day mode and this will fix the IR filter so it switches to night mode?

yes, maybe the IR filter is broken, but this camera's night visioin is not good in fact, it's cmos 1.3mp qualit. cmos sensor can not compare with ccd, it's poor quality at night.

4mcctvdotcom your making my good day turn bad. I had high hopes based on the reviews that this camera would meet my needs and budget. Any other comments about the quality of night vision on the FW2100? I started out looking at Foscam but then ran across these and thought I'd give it a shot. I'm looking for decent quality around the home.

Not really... Actually I think it's better than (some) of the CCD cameras out there (low noise and the IR sensitivity is good)

Also the resolution it's better than others (if you would check a Foscam you could think it's digitally zoomed to HD rather than true HD)