spotmom

Adding more than 4 cameras to QC808

Hello from the frigid north!

I have lurked and read for quite some time and I can't find an answer to my question (at least not how I am searching for it).

Probably simple for you, but I am new to all this.

I bought the Q-See kit from Sam's club, the QC808, 4 camera system with an NVR that supports 8 cameras. They only have 4 ports on the back. How do I add more cameras? I have 5 at the time being (a separate issue is the 5th one is an Acti TCM7811 and I can't get the NVR to see it or get an answer out of Q-See so far as to whether or not it ever will).

Anyway, can someone tell me what I need to add more cameras? I assume a poe device, but how do I make each of the 4 ports on the back accept 2 poe cameras so I can have 8 (eventually) as per what the NVR supports? Q-see's website has been a dismal zero for information. Nothing in the manual as far as I have been able to see.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Thanks for the tip (The start page for the info is 16 not 17, though.)

Well, I am feeling a bit cheated by advertising here. From reading the manual (again) it looks like I can only connect 4 cameras directly to this NVR, period. Then if I want to use the other 4 I have to run them over a network with a router?

I was hoping I would not have to run my router 24-7 just to have another camera. Silly me. I thought an NVR that supported 8 cameras could, well, support 8 cameras. By itself. Either that or I am reading the manual all wrong.

Please tell me I am missing something! If I have to have the other cameras hooked to the router, I am going to need a router with more ports! Or can I hook more than one camera to a port? Somehow I doubt that. As I understand it you shouldn't have more than one router in line with this system either, so it probably wouldn't work to just give the system its own router?

Thanks for the tip (The start page for the info is 16 not 17, though.)