gian_18778

Troubleshooting CAT5

Hi guys, gat a few questions here;

A friend of mine has a 8 camera CCTV setup around his property. He used CAT5 for his runs and dual power supply cameras. After everything is set up he's only receiving 4 video signals.

He and a friend of his pulled the wire to all locations and he performed a continuty test on all the lines, and everytihng check out fine. What's puzzling is that he is only receiving video for 4 cameras at the DVR.

He had one of his CCTV buddies to look at it but they could not solve it, and then he called me to see if I could assist. I'm no CCTV expert, but I know a little Electronics.

He is using a 12VDC 10AMP power supply for his distribution. He has passive video baluns at the cameras and 1-8CH passive video receiver at the head-end.

Here's what I found.

I read 11.98VDC at ALL camera locations, tested video and power lines for continuity, that was fine. I connected a monitor at the camera locally and did not get any video, however, I disconnected the camera and hooked it up directly to the power supply and got video. Did this for all cameras not seen at the DVR and ALL cameras produced video at the power supply. Wierd.

Tested the video baluns, and ALL transmit video. Out of the 4 cameras that can be seen at the DVR, three (3) of them are about 75ft. from the DVR and the furthest one has to be about 180-200ft away from the DVR.

It's strange. My friend did admit that *some* of the cable may have some stress or kinks in it during the installation of the wiring, but if you're still getting continuity, then that should signify that the cable is good, shouldn't it?