ComputerX

For Christmas I would like an answer to YA camera question

Greetings all,

A church for whom I work as a sysadmin/netadmin recently had two cameras fail[1]. They are in "how can we cut costs so we don't have to lay off as many people" mode, so hiring a true professional is not an option. The system was originally installed by a locksmith who is no longer available. Nonetheless, they want to replace the failed cameras. Since I am responsible for anything more technical than a candle, replacing them has fallen to me.

The cameras are this model (installation manual.) I suspect they failed from overheating. They were very warm to the touch when I took them down.

The DVR is a NetPromax 16 channel DVR that is several years old.

The power supply claims to be 24V DC. The camera claims to be 12V DC. As soon as I can borrow a meter I will get the actual voltage.

Can someone recommend a camera, preferably a dome, that is a good deal? We are looking for decent picture for not a lot of money. Considering the DVR, very high resolution is not necessary. There is plenty of room at the DVR and power supply location. Installing a couple more power supplies would not be a problem. I would prefer to buy from someone who is active here. I have learned a lot by reading old threads.

Thanks in advance,

Dan

[1] It appalls me that people steal from a church, but it happens with some regularity.

Are you sure the power supply output is 24VDC? If that is the case, no wonder the cameras are burning up. Use a multimeter to check the voltage at a camera. Most cameras will accept +/- 10%, so a camera rated at 12VDC should be fed a maximum of 13.2VDC.

Are you sure the power supply output is 24VDC? If that is the case, no wonder the cameras are burning up. Use a multimeter to check the voltage at a camera. Most cameras will accept +/- 10%, so a camera rated at 12VDC should be fed a maximum of 13.2VDC.

It is labeled 24V DC. I found it hard to believe too.