felixkat

DVR decision (or maybe PC based)

Firstly hello to everybody, newbie here.

I'm in the UK and it's 04:20, I've been reading this forums for a few hours amongst a couple of other sites and ebay searches !!!!

The knowledge on this site is fantastic however it's made me really cautious on what system to buy.

Basically I need a 4 channel DVR or PCI card. I will have three outdoor cameras and optionally have 1 indoor camera.

This is for a house setup, the three outside are for security and the indoor one, (as an idea), maybe used for a baby monitor.

So remote viewing is essential for the indoor camera. This is for viewing from a laptop or picture in picture on the TV. Please don't think we need it to leave the baby unattended whilst we're down the pub!!

I would rather have motion detection for the outdoor cameras to save on disk space, (although not essential). Also a masking facility for the motion detection to stop trees in the wind activating the recording.

Now I understand quality is only going to be as good as the weakest link but my main requirement here is the DVR. I have cameras and although not perfect they can be easily upgraded once all the cables are in place.

The resolution \ compression is what I need to decide on. I seen mention of dual codec devices to benefit recording & streaming, and a list of different opinions on preferences of codecs. I guess it depends on the make, model and variant of codecs used but I haven't seen any personally to make that decision.